Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Laughing Coffin

Can someone explain this rule to me, the offsetting penalties situation in the 4th

Recommended Posts

on the free play offsides, where Allen shrugged off a sack and hit Singletary in the flat, and then was nullified by a Knox illegal block in the back, why is it offsetting penalties there, and not at worst a 1st and 5 scenario? Especially with the Knox penalty being 20 yards downfield after Singletary already gained all the yards.

  • Thanks 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

True...I thought for a moment the flag on the Bills would be assessed after the play and be a first down. They do this all the time in other situations but not this one. 


miserable that 70s show GIF

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The Knox call was also a horrible call.  He hardly touched the guy.  But I have no answer about the offsetting penalties.  

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

SECTION 5 FOULS BY BOTH TEAMS (DOUBLE FOULS)

ARTICLE 1. DOUBLE FOUL WITHOUT CHANGE OF POSSESSION. If there is a Double Foul (3-14-1-e) during a down in which there is not a change of possession, the penalties are offset, and the down is replayed at the previous spot. If it is a scrimmage down, the number of the next down and the line to gain is the same as for the down in which the fouls occurred.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yeah. I don’t get it. Why couldn’t the Bills decline the offsides penalty and take the ball at the spot of the illegal block penalty? 


Ed Oliver is my adopt-a-Bill

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...